Executive Director

Sherry L. Hoban

Sherry L. Hoban, Esq., is the Executive Director for Consumer Bankruptcy Assistance Project, she started with the organization in October, 2018. Sherry’s vision for CBAP includes empowering low income families to take control of their financial futures through financial literacy education, debt counseling, and pro bono direct legal services. CBAP’s pro bono services are critical in the movement to increase access to justice, specifically to increasing the accessibility of the bankruptcy court system which allows individuals overwhelmed by debt to receive the financial benefits that a bankruptcy can provide.

Prior to CBAP Sherry spent over 15 years dedicated to serving low income populations in a variety of legal settings, including interning at CBAP herself while she was in law school. Most recently, Sherry was Assistant Counsel at a regional Medicaid and Medicare Managed Care Organization that focused on improving the health outcomes of low income individuals and improving access to the healthcare system. Additionally, she serves on the board, and has held leadership positions, in several community and women’s organizations. She brings a beneficial combination of compliance and risk analysis along with fundraising and volunteer management experience to this position. Sherry is a graduate of Villanova University’s Charles Widger School of Law where she was awarded the Villanova Law Alumni Award for Pro Bono Service. She received her B.A. from the College of the Holy Cross in Worcester, Massachusetts.


CBAP is proud of our small but mighty staff.  We are able to able to operate so efficiently in large part due to our hard working board of directors and dedicated volunteers.  In 2018, we had another successful year with 2.5 staff members, over 60 volunteers, and 8 law students.


Board of Directors

Amy Vulpio President White and Williams LLP
Anne Aaronson President-Elect Dilworth Paxson LLP
Neil Gupta Treasurer SSG Capital Advisors
Jeffrey Carbino Secretary Montgomery McCracken Walker & Rhoads LLP
Joseph Argentina Board Member Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP
Angela Baglanzis Board Member Obermayer Rebmann Maxwell & Hippel LLP
Monique Bair DiSabatino Board Member Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP
Leslie Baskin Board Member Spector Gadon & Rosen P.C.
Amelia Boss Board Member Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law
William Burnett Board Member Flaster Greenberg P.C.
Sherri Dicks Board Member Law Offices of Sherri R. Dicks, P.C.
Mark Dorval Board Member Stradley Ronon Stevens & Young LLP
John Gagliardi Board Member Wetzel Gagliardi Fetter & Lavin LLC
Leslie Gaynus Board Member Retired
Robert M. Greenbaum Board Member Smith Kane Holman LLC
Matthew Hamermesh Board Member Hangley Aronchick Segal Pudlin & Schiller P.C.
Richard Heaslip Board Member Weil, Gotshal & Mangus LLP
Peter C. Hughes Board Member Dilworth Paxson LLP
Samuel Israel Board Member Lannett Company Inc.
Michael Jacoby Board Member Pheonix Management Services, LLC
Regina Stango Kelbon Board Member Blank Rome LLP
Barry Kleban Board Member McElroy Deutsch Mulvany & Carpenter LLP
Jennifer Knox Board Member Wells Fargo
Lawrence Kotler Board Member Duane Morris LLP
Laurie Krepto Board Member Robinson & Cole
Fran Lawall Board Member Pepper Hamilton LLP
Ray Lemisch Board Member Klehr Harrison Harvey Branzburg LLP
Melissa A. Martinez Board Member Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP
Rachel Mauceri Board Member Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Patricia Mayer Board Member Patricia M. Mayer, PC
Holly S. Miller Board Member Gellert Scali Busenkell & Brown LLC
J. Gregg Miller Board Member Pepper Hamilton LLP
Julie Murphy Board Member Hyland Levin
Jay Ochroch Board Member Fox Rothschild LLP
Mark Pfeiffer Board Member Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC
Edward Phillips Board Member EisnerAmper LLP
Josie Pickens Board Member Community Legal Services
Natalie Ramsey Board Member Robinson & Cole
David Smith Board Member Smith Kane Holman LLC
Maggie Soboleski Board Member Center City Law Offices, LLC
Henry Sommer Board Member Collier on Bankruptcy
Prince Thomas Board Member Fox Rothschild LLP
Scott Waterman Board Member Chepter 13 Trustee Eastern District of Pennsylvania
Robert Leite-Young Board Member Roach & Leite